New hospice board elected

Left to right – Ken Clark, Dave Shaw, Lois Brummet, Juleen McElgunn, Sandra Shaw, Trudy Demorest, Janet Shaw, Carolyn Madge, Susan Capyk and Ted Cronmiller. Missing Alan Tyabji

The annual general membership meeting of the Desert Valley Hospice Society (DVHS) was held Monday in Oliver at the South Okanagan General Hospital.

Elected to the board: President Janet Shaw, Vice-President Susan Capyk, Treasurer Alan Tyabji and Secretary Juleen McElgunn. Directors: Sandra Shaw, Ted Cronmiller, Trudy Demorest, Ken Clark and Dave Shaw.

Carolyn Madge is Executive Assistant and Lois Brummet has been hired in a contract role as Hospice Volunteer Program Director & Educator.

Financial Report for the last fiscal year ending August showed assets of $131,711. The organization raised almost $47 thousand and spent about $33,000 in expenses.

DVHS President Shaw indicated that the organization has sufficient funds to pay for a business plan for a hospice in the South Okanagan but has not received the “green light” from government that it is interested in funding the operation of a six bed hospice. In a power point presentation – Janet Shaw says there is a lack of leadership by Interior Health, the care of the dying does not meet community needs, visable minorities are not engaged, care training is lacking for providers and most importantly IHA is the first to admit this.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *